Humanitarian Awareness

A look at the online marketing and awareness efforts of humanitarian relief organizations.

My own personal experience with social media marketing

Leave a comment

Shortly after creating Humanitarian Awareness, I created Facebook and Twitter accounts for the blog for promotional purposes. I had no challenges with the creation of these accounts; it is easy, free, and should definitely be used by all businesses, big and small. The more I used the accounts, the more I got an inside look into how effective and engaging social media can be from a business perspective; social media engages, promotes, and informs better than any website alone can. It allows the business to promote issues in depth, cater to specific customer interests, and provides easy ways of communication. For example, if a customer/follower has a question for the organization, it is much more time and cost effective to conduct this exchange on social media rather than over the phone, e-mail, etc. I also learned that what you say is just as, if not more, important than how many posts are being made. If your rhetoric is unappealing, bland, and repetitive, your audience is not going to take your posts as seriously and may even stop following the campaign altogether. I feel that the posts I made were effective at promoting the blog, engaging the audience, and spreading awareness; however, it was a challenge to constantly keep updating.

Leave a comment